Page 4 - Engine Professional magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
12 PERFORMANCE EXHAUST SYSTEMS By Mike Mavrigian
30 TO PORT OR NOT TO PORT By Lake Speed Jr. and Keith Jones
36 THIN TO WIN WITHOUT LINER SPIN By Dave Metchkoff
42 FINISH FACTORS By Chuck Lynch
48 LEARNING ON THE FLY By Rob Munro
52 NEW FORD DRAGON By Dave Hagen
60 THRUSTED INTO SUCCESS By Chuck Lynch
66 HEAD GASKET SEALING OPTIONS By Brian Roberts
72 INDUCTION HEATING By John M. Lormin
80 AERA IS YOUR SOURCE FOR INFORMATION
By Karen Tendering
84 SELECTING THE RIGHT CARBURETOR FOR YOUR ENGINE
By Jeff Baldwin
88 RING, RANG, RUNG...
WHAT ARE THE MOST CRITICAL SEALS IN YOUR ENGINE?
By Steve Scott
96 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 104 PRODUCT NEWS
106 MARKETPLACE
107 ADVERTISER INDEX
12
36
52
84
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2020 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
2 OCT-DEC 2020 engine professional
88
VOLUME 13, NUMBER 4
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Gary Lewis Sonoma, CA
First Vice Chairman
Corey Schlegelmilch McCool Junction, NE
Second Vice Chairman
Mark Fellanto Paterson, NJ
Treasurer
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6