Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
12 INTRODUCING THE NEW
AERA CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD By Jim Rickoff
14 NIGHTHAWK II LS, PART 2 By Mike Mavrigian
38 GIVING A COYOTE ANOTHER LIFE... NO HELP FROM ACME
By Chuck Lynch with Russ Hayes and Cotey Noble
42 PISTON-TO-WALL CLEARANCE By John Baechtel
50 DYNAMIC SEALING, PART 2 By Brian Roberts
54 ANATOMY OF AN ENGINE OIL By Mike Marcella
68 CAM TIMING DRIVES By Mike Mavrigian
82 PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE By Steve Scott
86 AERA NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES By Rob Munro
90 PROSIS PRO By Steve Fox
Using Technology in the Shop
94 ECOBOOST 2.3L ENGINE By Geoff Racier
98 ENGINE BEARING HOUSING AND HOW IT AFFECTS ENGINE BEARINGS By Dr. Dmitri Kopeliovich
102 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 108 PRODUCT NEWS
110 MARKETPLACE
38
42
68
82
2
OCT-DEC 2018 engine professional
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2018 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526- 7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
94
VOLUME 11, NUMBER 4
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
First Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Second Vice Chairman
Gary Lewis, Sonoma, CA
Treasurer
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6