Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine - AERA
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
10 INDUSTRY NEWS Welcome to new AERA members, calendar of events, news and views
16 PREPARING FOR A DYNO SESSION By Mike Mavrigian
32 FLYWHEEL GRINDING By Chuck Lynch
36 HIRING TODAY’S MACHINIST By Rob Munro
40 LS CYLINDER HEAD STEAM PLUMBING
By Mike Mavrigian
54 TECHSIDE By Dave Metchkoff
Sleeving Hyper-Eutectic Alusil Blocks and Your Sanity
62 PERFORMANCE DIESELS By Jeremy Wagler
66 CUMMINS TAKES SIGNIFICANT STEP TO REDUCE VEHICLE CARBON FOOTPRINT
By Dave Hagen
68 PICKLING AN ENGINE? By Steve Scott
72 NEW DURAMAX DIESEL By Dave Hagen
82 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 98 PROSIS PRO
By Steve Fox
100 PRODUCT NEWS
101 MARKETPLACE
16
32
54
68
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2017 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526- 7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
2 OCT-DEC 2017 engine professional
72
VOLUME 10, NUMBER 4
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
First Vice Chairman
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
Second Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Treasurer
Steve Edmondson Louisville, KY
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6