Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine
P. 4

cOnTEnTs
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
10 MEET INCOMING AERA CHAIRMAN TONY PONTILLO
By Jim Rickoff
12 THREAD REPAIR By Mike Mavrigian
30 AMERICAN MOTORS MUSCLE CAR CYLINDER HEADS
By Tony Pontillo
34 MODERN ENGINE CHALLENGES DRIVE HARMONIC BALANCER INNOVATION
By Brian LeBarron
40 TOCUTORNOTTOCUT By Chuck Lynch
44 PROSIS PRO By Steve Fox
Diagram Tab Updated
46 EVOLUTION OF TYPICAL GASOLINE PISTON PROFILES
By Russ Hayes
54 HEAD GASKET SEALING By Brian Roberts
58 ENGINE AIRFLOW, CAMSHAFTS AND HORSEPOWER PLANNING
By Harold Bettes
70 PREPARING TO EXIT AND RETIRE By Aaron Fulton, CFP®, MSFS
72 SHOP MANAGEMENT SOLUTIONS By Rob Munro
76 VOLVO, MACK DISCONTINUE THEIR 16L DIESEL
By Dave Hagen
82 REUSE, REBUILD OR REPLACE? By Steve Scott
88 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 94 MARKETPLACE
12
40
46
58
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2019 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
2 JULY-SEPT 2019 engine professional
76
VOLUME 12, NUMBER 3
publisHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
First Vice Chairman
Gary Lewis Sonoma, CA
Second Vice Chairman
Corey Schlegelmilch Exeter, NE
Treasurer
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EdiTOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
assOciaTE EdiTOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TEcHnical EdiTORs
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
gRapHic dEsign
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
advERTising salEs
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
ciRculaTiOn
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMbERsHip sERvicEs
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6