Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
10 PUSHROD TALK By Mike Mavrigian
24 HR12DDR ENGINE & TRANSMISSION By Dave Hagen
34 WHAT IS SN PLUS, LSPI AND WHY SHOULD I CARE?
By Lake Speed Jr.
38 HIGH PERFORMANCE CYLINDER SEALING
By Dave Fussner
44 PROSIS PRO By Steve Fox
Understanding the Importance of Changing a Password
46 WHAT SHOULD HAPPEN WHEN YOU CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT
By Melissa Lewis
48 AFFORDABLE OPTIONS FOR AERA MEMBERS
By Karen Tendering
50 GM ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT (AFM) SYSTEM
By Brian Roberts
54 ROCKER ARM TECH By Mike Mavrigian
66 BLAST FROM THE PAST By Rob Munro
72 DRESSING UP YOUR GASKETS By Steve Scott
78 LB7 6.6 DURAMAX ENGINE By Dustin Archdekin
84 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 90 ON THE SAME PAGE
Engine building book reviews by Dave Hagen
92 PRODUCT NEWS 94 MARKETPLACE
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2019 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
10
38
54
72
2 APR-JUN 2019 engine professional
78
VOLUME 12, NUMBER 2
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
First Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Second Vice Chairman
Gary Lewis, Sonoma, CA
Treasurer
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6