Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
12 THE IDEal ENgINE aSSEMblY ROOM By Mike Mavrigian
26 REbUIlDINg vaRIablE caM TIMINg gEaRS
By Justin Zipp
34 INTakE MaNIFOlD SEalINg By Brian Roberts
38 TURbOcHaRgERS By Tyrone “TJ” Abrams
42 WHaT IS lSpI? By Lake Speed Jr.
48 cREaTE MaRkETINg OpppORTUNITIES THROUgH SpONSORSHIp REqUESTS
By Rob Munro
52 SODa, THE NEW abRaSIvE? By Mike Mavrigian with Ron Storer and Robert Robinson
58 FlUID lOSS aND INTERMIxINg By Mike Mavrigian
66 clEaNER IS bETTER By Perry Crabb
72 MIRROR bORE cOaTINg By Dave Hagen
74 REbUIlDINg TODaY’S pOWERSpORTS cYlINDER HEaDS
By Mike Perry
78 4 WaYS TO lOWER YOUR RaTES WHEN pROcESSINg cREDIT caRDS By Danny Turner
80 caSE NH aUTONOMOUS TRacTOR By Dave Hagen
84 cOOl ENOUgH TO FORgET abOUT IT? DON’T DO IT!
By Steve Scott
92 pROSIS pRO By Steve Fox
96 TEcHNIcal bUllETINS 104 ON THE SaME pagE
Engine building book reviews by Dave Hagen
106 pRODUcT NEWS 110 MaRkETplacE
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2018 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526- 7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
12
26
52
58
2
APR-JUN 2018 engine professional
84
VOLUME 11, NUMBER 2
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
First Vice Chairman
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
Second Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Treasurer
Steve Edmondson Louisville, KY
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6