Page 4 - AERA - Engine Professional
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
10 CHUCK BARNETT RECEIVES CHARLES YOUNT AWARD
By Jim Rickoff
12 TURBOCHARGER BALANCING By Mike Mavrigian
24 OIL IS THE GASKET
By Lake Speed Jr. and Keith Jones
28 ADDITIVES IN ENGINE OILS By The American Petroleum Institute
40 OIL PUMP UPGRADE
By Brett Harth and Philip Sturgess
46 THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS By Rob Munro
50 NEW GM 6.6L V8 L8T GAS ENGINE By Dave Hagen
62 SPRING GARDEN REPAIR By Chuck Lynch
66 FORD 5.2L FLAT PLANE CRANKSHAFT
By Brian Roberts
70 APPLIED NANO SURFACES By David Chobany
80 THE GROWTH OF AERA By Karen Tendering
82 MAINTAINING CUSTOMER LISTS By Amanda Harmening
84 PROSIS PRO By Steve Fox
88 PISTON DESIGNS By Steve Scott
98 TECHNICAL BULLETINS
106 MARKETPLACE
107 ADVERTISER INDEX
12
28
50
70
Engine ProfessionalĀ® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2021 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
2 JAN-MAR 2021 engineprofessional.com
88
VOLUME 14, NUMBER 1
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Gary Lewis Sonoma, CA
First Vice Chairman
Corey Schlegelmilch McCool Junction, NE
Second Vice Chairman
Mark Fellanto Paterson, NJ
Treasurer
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6