Page 4 - Engine Professional magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
14 TUBULAR HEADER TECH By Mike Mavrigian
28 WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE CAN HURT YOUR ENGINE By Lake Speed Jr.
30 EVERY ENGINE HAS A STORY By Rob Munro
36 NEW FORD 7.3L ENGINE By Dave Hagen
38 ALL FIRED UP AND READY TO WERC By Rob Munro
42 YOUR OIL’S BEST FRIEND: THE PISTON RING
By Lake Speed Jr. and Keith Jones
48 UNDERSTANDING MARINE APPLICATIONS
By Greg West
52 FORD 6.0L HIGH-PRESSURE OILING SYSTEM
By Brian Roberts
60 EREF FUNDS AVAILABLE TO ENGINE PROFESSIONALS
By Karen Tendering
62 PISTON FAILURE MODES AND ANALYSIS
By Eric Grilliot
70 PROSIS PRO By Steve Fox
Printing and Engine Searches
74 12 TIPS FOR STARTING DIESEL ENGINES IN THE COLD
By Dave Hagen with the Capital Reman Tech Team
82 IS IT REALLY THE WATER FERRULE’S FAULT
By Steve Scott
88 TECHNICAL BULLETINS
96 ON THE SAME PAGE Engine Building Book Reviews
By Dave Hagen
98 PRODUCT NEWS 102 MARKETPLACE
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2020 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
14
30
42
62
2 JAN-MAR 2020 engine professional
82
VOLUME 13, NUMBER 1
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
First Vice Chairman
Gary Lewis Sonoma, CA
Second Vice Chairman
Corey Schlegelmilch Exeter, NE
Treasurer
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6