Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
12 PRI 2018 RECAP By Steve Fox
14 INSTALLING A BELT DRIVE By Mike Mavrigian
26 ENGINE DYNAMOMETER TESTING AND CORRECTION FACTORS
By Harold Bettes
38 FASTENERS By Bill McKnight
46 CGI: WHAT IS IT AND HOW DOES IT IMPACT MY SHOP?
By Chuck Lynch
52 OIL PAN SEALING TECHNOLOGY By Brian Roberts
56 ADDING A VACUUM PUMP TO A RACE ENGINE
By Mike Mavrigian
68 HOW ONLINE TRAINING CAN BENEFIT SCHOOLS
By Rob Munro
78 CATĀ® C13B By Dave Hagen
80 ENGINE FAILURE ANALYSIS: LOOK BEYOND THE OBVIOUS By Steve Scott
88 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 94 MARKETPLACE
14
26
46
56
2
JAN-MAR 2019 engine professional
Engine ProfessionalĀ® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2019 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Suite 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
80
VOLUME 12, NUMBER 1
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
First Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Second Vice Chairman
Gary Lewis, Sonoma, CA
Treasurer
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6