Page 4 - Engine Professional Magazine - AERA
P. 4

CONTENTS
4 FROM THE EDITOR
6 INDUSTRY NEWS
Welcome to new members, news and views, calendar of events
10 AERA TECH & SKILLS REGIONAL CONFERENCES By Steve Fox
14 PERFORMANCE CONNECTING RODS
By Mike Mavrigian
38 THE RECIPE FOR VALVE SEAT SUCCESS By Chuck Lynch
44 LIVING THE DREAM By Rob Munro
48 THREAD REPAIR By Mike Mavrigian
64 CRANKSHAFT JOURNAL FINISH By Ken Barton
72 CUMMINS ISX CYLINDER LINER DILEMMA
By Steve Scott
76 PROSIS PRO
Submitting specifications to the AERA Tech Team By Steve Fox
80 GREAT MOMENTS IN CHEVY TRUCK TORQUE HISTORY
By Dave Hagen
88 TECHNICAL BULLETINS 98 ON THE SAME PAGE
Engine building book reviews by Dave Hagen
100 PRODUCT NEWS
101 MARKETPLACE
103 ADVERTISER INDEX
14
38
48
64
2
JAN-MAR 2018 engine professional
Engine Professional® magazine (ISSN 1945-7634) is published quarterly by Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association. Copyright 2018 AERA. Subscription rates: $70 per year, outside the United States $90, single copy $20. Publication, editorial and business office: 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106, Cary, IL 60013. Editorial: 815-526-7600, Advertising: 815-526-7600, Circulation: 815-526-7600. Send change of address to the above. The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various authors in this magazine are
those of the individual authors and not of the Automotive Engine Rebuilders Association, which disclaims all responsibility for them.
72
VOLUME 11, NUMBER 1
PUBLISHER
AERA - Engine Builders Association 875 Feinberg Court, Unit 106
Cary, IL 60013 U.S.A. 815-526-7600
815-526-7601 fax
Chairman of the Board
Bobby Kammerer Duncan, OK
First Vice Chairman
Jay Miller Minneapolis, MN
Second Vice Chairman
Tony Pontillo Kenosha, WI
Treasurer
Steve Edmondson Louisville, KY
President
Jim Rickoff Cary, IL
EDITOR
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Dave Hagen dave@aera.org
TECHNICAL EDITORS
Steve Fox steve@aera.org
Chuck Lynch chuck@aera.org
Mike Mavrigian birchwdag@frontier.com
Rob Munro rob@aera.org
Brian Roberts brian@aera.org
GRAPHIC DESIGN
Maria Beyerstedt maria@aera.org
ADVERTISING SALES
Jim Rickoff jim@aera.org
Ron McMorris ron@aera.org
CIRCULATION
Amanda Harmening amanda@aera.org
MEMBERSHIP SERVICES
Karen Tendering karen@aera.org


































































































   2   3   4   5   6